Introducing Yanicke…

Well, hello… *waves*

Being the first to post on our new blog is a little daunting… but also exciting 🙂 It means The Print Posse is finally a reality!

I’ve always wanted to be a part of a kick-ass writing team, ever since I discovered The Merry Sisters of Fate back in 2010. If you’re not familiar with them, The Merry Sisters of Fate are a fantastic writing trio comprised of Maggie Stiefvater, Brenna Yovanoff and Tessa Gratton – three of the most awesome YA writers ever (if you haven’t already guessed, I’m a child of the 80s – I apologise in advance for my overuse of adjectives such awesome, cool and bodacious). In May 2008, they started hosting a blog over on Live Journal and every month would each publish one original piece of fiction.

Then last year, I was fortunate enough to meet Gabbie, Fiona and Karen while participating in a pitch-writing workshop hosted by The Australian Writers Marketplace. We kept in touch after the course finished, cheering each other on and giving each other advice, and then one day I thought “Hey, why don’t we start our own writers’ blog?” So I passed the idea by the girls, and one thing led to another and now, BAM, here we are! 😀

But that’s enough said about The Print Posse for now. Today, I’m supposed to be writing about me.

Like pretty much every writer out there, I’ve loved books since forever. As a child I devoured novels and series such as The Earthsea Trilogy by Ursula Le Guin, Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene, The Haunted Mesa by Louis L’Amour, The Hobbit by Tolkien, The Chronicles of Narnia by Lewis, and anything Isaac Asimov. Oh, and I absolutely adored Choose Your Own Adventures.

As a teen, I gobbled up Point Horrors – you know, those short but exciting (and sometimes so scary I would huddle on my bed under the covers as I read them) books by writers such as Richie Tankersley Cusick, RL Stine, Christopher Pike, LJ Smith and Caroline B Cooney. To this day my most cherished YA trilogy is The Secret Diaries by Janice Harrell.

As an adult I’ve enjoyed Johanna Lindsey and Diana Gabaldon. And, of course, Lori Handeland, Laurell K Hamilton, MaryJanice Davidson, Charlaine Harris and Jennifer Armintrout (Cyrus is one of my all-time favourite vampires) to name a few. And I don’t mind me a little Nicholas Sparks every now and then.

Also through the years, being half Norwegian, I’ve been drawn to folklore and fairy tales of Scandinavia. Oh, and my favourite Norwegian novel, in case you are wondering, is Victoria by Knut Hamsun.

This is me at about 10 years of age reading a book I still use as a resource today - The Dictionary of Superstitions by Caradeau & Donner. Oh, and my cat, Tobias :)

This is me at about 10 years of age reading a book I still use as a resource today – The Dictionary of Superstitions by Caradeau & Donner. Oh, and my cat, Tobias 🙂

Over the years, I’ve tried my hand at writing little bits and pieces here and there. When I was about ten years old and in school, I wrote and illustrated The Bermuda Project, which was a blatant rip off of “inspired” by a computer game I loved even though it drove me mad. When I was 12 and in Norway, I wrote a short story about a deserted town, complete with rolling tumbleweeds and cowboys who drank whisky and rye. Alas, that is about all I can recall of the story now – that, and my family’s ruckus laughter when I read my masterpiece out loud (and, believe me, I hadn’t meant for it to be comedy). In high school, I started writing a story about a bunch of teens driving to a beach house for the weekend where a dead body turned up – no doubt inspired by my obsessive love of Point Horrors. And I’m sure I’ve made countless other attempts at writing, the details of which presently escape my recollection.

It wasn’t until 2009 that I got serious about writing. I had a young son, two bachelor’s degrees and had been practising law all of about five minutes when I thought “Stuff it! I’m going to follow my dreams”. And ever since then I’ve been banging my head against the wall on a daily basis… and loving every minute of it 😀

For me, there is nothing like writing. It has given my life meaning like no other pursuit ever has. It fills my mind with delicious fantasies and makes my blood race through my veins. Being a writer makes even the most hum drum activities, like cleaning house and folding clothes, exciting endeavours – because I’m off somewhere in my mind, plotting and planning about other worlds, people, monsters, mayhem and good old fashioned obsession. And I can’t even listen to a song anymore without imagining how it applies to my characters.

Being a writer means what’s going on in my head is not always about real life anymore, it’s about my characters – where they’ve been and where they’re taking me next.

And now that’s enough about me 😀

Be sure to check back with us next Sunday when the lovely Gabrielle Stroud makes her first appearance.

Thanks for dropping by!

Signature

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Introducing Yanicke…

  1. Congratulations on your new blog, ladies! I look forward to meeting the whole team 🙂 Sometimes I feel like a ring-in when I hear about people writing for such a long time. I guess I did read about 700 books over 3 years to make up for it though 🙂 Thanks for your support over the last few months, Yanicke. I don’t think I would have one shred of sanity left had it not been for you!

    Like

    • Thanks for checking out the blog, Lorelle! I still can’t believe you read that many books in so little time — that’s like 4 a week!!! By the way, the thanks definitely goes two ways 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Lorelle! Thanks for checking in at The Print Posse and especially for leaving us a comment! We love comments! I can’t wait for you to meet all the team. You sound like just the kind of person we need to read our material each week.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Print Posse blog is live! | Yanicke Forfang

  3. Pingback: Introducing Gabbie… | {The Print Posse}

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

